Lost in Demo-Version 2.61 - HELP

Post your tutorials and help questions in this forum
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3984
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Lost in Demo-Version 2.61 - HELP

Postby Janusz Biela » Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:14 am

Send me scene. I suspect is there Vertex Normal Map selection in Surface properties.
When you import object from 3ds or max you have already selected this with map. Kray sometimes crash with this.
Kray should render all corrupted models without problem.

User avatar
LightwaveSteven
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Lost in Demo-Version 2.61 - HELP

Postby LightwaveSteven » Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:21 am

Hi there Janusz

Thank you SO much for helping. The whole scene is a bit too big for mail. Can I send you a WeTransfer link... just need your email address...

Thanks,
Steven

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3984
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Lost in Demo-Version 2.61 - HELP

Postby Janusz Biela » Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:58 am

LightwaveSteven wrote:Hi there Janusz

Thank you SO much for helping. The whole scene is a bit too big for mail. Can I send you a WeTransfer link... just need your email address...

Thanks,
Steven


Wetransfer

janusz.biela@gmail.com

+ information what is wrong.

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3984
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Lost in Demo-Version 2.61 - HELP

Postby Janusz Biela » Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:44 am

It seems for me no problems.
Please do not twist tone mapping in renders: You can not use in the same time gamma/exponential from General Tab tone Blending from Plugin Tab.
You must switch in Kray/Lightwave to Linear and use blending LWF Gamma/Exponential (I uploaded scene before)
Do not use Power Photons in Kray (default is 1.0) - it`s make fake light. If you have dark render you must use halogens (Spot Lights or IES) or other light sources (other window).
I remember this error affects nothing, is just error in script (I do not get it here on Windows). To remove it just delete Kray plugin from scene, save scene , close LW and open again with new Kray plugin. Do not import settings - create Kray settings from the beginning.
room.jpg


here lws:
170727_001_TheOffice_Janusz.lws
(163.18 KiB) Downloaded 73 times

User avatar
LightwaveSteven
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Lost in Demo-Version 2.61 - HELP

Postby LightwaveSteven » Tue Sep 05, 2017 1:36 pm

Hi there :D ;-)

Thank you very much, Janusz. This is a HUGE help! :D

Right now I'm in the office and I can't check the settings from here. Have to wait to get home tonight.
The render has quite some grain or noise... is it because you chose a minimal render quality? I guess
the final render would be smoothed out more, right?

Thanks also for the detailed tipps und tricks, dos and don'ts... that should get me going pretty quickly.

I'll keep you informed about my progress and I'll also let you know what my future employer thinks.
Hopefully they'll say yes and I can order Kray :D :D

Have a great day, cheers,
Steven R.

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3984
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Lost in Demo-Version 2.61 - HELP

Postby Janusz Biela » Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:05 pm

I uploaded settings for Brute Force sampling (QMC).
In this system works only amount of rays (rest options are disabled and they work only with Final Gathering)
- 100 Rays - poor quality with fast render
- 1000 Rays - good quality - slow render
- over 1000 Rays - very good quality - very slow render

Screenshot 2017-09-05 14.59.30.png
Screenshot 2017-09-05 14.59.30.png (51.72 KiB) Viewed 1973 times


Path Passes and Corner Distance you keep always the same for all render systems.

All options in Kray 3 will be disabled. There will be only 3 presets (buttons): fast/medium/high quality

User avatar
LightwaveSteven
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Lost in Demo-Version 2.61 - HELP

Postby LightwaveSteven » Tue Sep 05, 2017 3:16 pm

So these settings will also work well for animation?
When do you think Kray3 will be shipping?

Can't wait to get home and test it...

Cheers,
Steven

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3984
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Lost in Demo-Version 2.61 - HELP

Postby Janusz Biela » Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:46 pm

LightwaveSteven wrote:So these settings will also work well for animation?

Yes.
When you create Photon Map solution: http://www.kraytracing.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5333 - do not mistake it with Bake GI.
When you increase quality to reduce noise.


LightwaveSteven wrote:When do you think Kray3 will be shipping?

I would like now, but product must be full, we have still a lot to do and we do continuously. Kray 3 is now Multi platform Render Engine, We imply his Core in to PRO100 and Google Sketchup Podium.

User avatar
LightwaveSteven
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Lost in Demo-Version 2.61 - HELP

Postby LightwaveSteven » Wed Sep 06, 2017 12:28 am

This is strange....every time Kray reaches frame 10 it crashes... does it have to do anything with the Time Interpolation,
10 frames, Precached Map and Irridiance Cache...? Are they kinds interefering?

Although, in your uploaded scene a few days ago, you showed me the Time Interpolatioon Setting and you used the same settings.

This is strange... I can't figure out what it could be...

When it renders, it's saving the TGA as defined, but also .fgi-files which might add up to a considerable amount the end.
Are this the Precached Maps or what? Can they be deleted after rendering or would they serve another purpose....?

I checked and changed that issue with Gamma, Linaer and Extrapolated.....makes sense now :)

I have also uploaded my actual settings.... they are based mainly on your settings from the Time Interpolated Scene a couple of days ago.

Or is it a Lightwave Bug?

Cheers,
Steven R.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 00.26.57.png
Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 00.26.57.png (82.88 KiB) Viewed 1963 times
Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 00.26.54.png
Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 00.26.54.png (71.67 KiB) Viewed 1963 times
Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 00.26.50.png
Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 00.26.50.png (84.03 KiB) Viewed 1963 times
Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 00.26.42.png
Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 00.26.42.png (82.91 KiB) Viewed 1963 times
Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 00.18.37.png
Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 00.18.37.png (77.04 KiB) Viewed 1963 times

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3984
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Lost in Demo-Version 2.61 - HELP

Postby Janusz Biela » Wed Sep 06, 2017 8:30 am

If it crash make very little scene and sent this to G. with procedures how achieve crash.
Bug must be 100% repeatable. I do not have MAC here.

User avatar
LightwaveSteven
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Lost in Demo-Version 2.61 - HELP

Postby LightwaveSteven » Mon Sep 11, 2017 12:40 pm

Hi there Janusz

Still experimenting around like crazy...

I downloaded CleanMyMac and did a bunch of procedures, hoping that stuff could get cleaned out,
fixing permissions, clear chaches etc etc.

This time it rendered up till frame 13 and crashed. See attached screenshot.... the EXC_BAD_ACCESS and
KERN_INVALID stuff is giving me a bit of a head ache.... I have NO idea how to solve this without messing
up the whole system...

I know, you don't work on Macs... but are there no issues like this known to happen on Windows machines?

Any ideas?

Cheers,
StevenR.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-09-11 at 12.18.08.png


Return to “Help and Tutorials”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests