Shader simulator

Locked
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3265
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Shader simulator

Post by Janusz Biela »

Maybe somebody can render this in K2 with reasonable time? :mrgreen:
transparency.7z
(13.64 KiB) Downloaded 260 times

Here is my K3:
K3_tester.png
K3_tester.png (210.16 KiB) Viewed 5513 times
User avatar
promity
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Shader simulator

Post by promity »

I decided to compare the render speed between K3 and Arnolz (Maya) being skeptical of K3. However, I was wrong.
K3 - 2m 13s
K3_RC1_001.jpg
Arnold (12AA) - 3m 23s
Maya_arnold_12AA.jpg
Arnold (9AA, 4Diffuse sampling) - 7m 35s
Maya_arnold_9AA_7_35.jpg
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3265
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Shader simulator

Post by Janusz Biela »

btw
This new importance option has some small speed issues (not correct balance). G. research now "problem".
It should be at least 50% faster. Also after VCM will be again faster....and after optimization again faster.
The scene is very interesting: deep recurse everywhere. Photon path has so big journey from light source that only a few hits camera.
In Arnold you can see missing transparency photons (almost black shadow behind glass). And for clean render you have to wait around 20-30 min.
Maybe you setup wrong render?

...and you can not compare modern PM engine with anything, is just impossible. Arnold (and others unbiased systems) must calculate billions of paths when Kray3 needs only a couple of thousand.

...still believe in interpolation.... :!:
User avatar
promity
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Shader simulator

Post by promity »

almost black shadow behind glass

I have long tried to find an explanation for this, until I started K3 in Path tracing mode. And I got exactly the same shadows.
K3_RC1_PT_001.jpg
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3265
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Shader simulator

Post by Janusz Biela »

Check settings. Because here in PT I got same effect:
K3_tester.png
K3_tester.png (212.54 KiB) Viewed 5473 times
User avatar
promity
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Shader simulator

Post by promity »

It strange becouse i only changed Diffuse Model.
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3265
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Shader simulator

Post by Janusz Biela »

promity wrote:It strange becouse i only changed Diffuse Model.
I will test this scene more. Maybe is something wrong with GI management .
Locked