Questions about Kray3

Post your tutorials and help questions in this forum
Asticles
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:23 pm

Questions about Kray3

Postby Asticles » Sat Nov 26, 2016 8:21 pm

Sorry, where are the tonemap options if I want to change the exposure without using the tonemap plugin?

Edit: It is planned to change the exposure dinamically on the render buffer without having to re-render? This could be a good addition.

Thanks

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3992
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Questions about Kray3

Postby Janusz Biela » Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:13 pm

Forget about static tone mapping..... K3 will have (partly has) all real time tone maps:
- exposure
- gamma
- contrast
- burn out
- white balance
- clip white
- clip dark

G. must just finish VCM and bi-directional GI system render (PPM is ready, also we start test new FG sampling)- then Engine will be ready for this. All will be activated in K3VPR and we will forget about old fashion system render....

Asticles
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:23 pm

Re: Questions about Kray3

Postby Asticles » Mon Nov 28, 2016 1:27 pm

Thanks for your answer. These are great news.

As a suggestion, there should be also chromatic aberration, vignette and bloom post efects. Only with the idea to need the minimum of work in post production, if you're in a hurry. Also film simulation profiles are a common feature, look at blender, luxrender or thea.

· I've been testing OB3 but had a lot of crashes when changing the engine options. And sometimes the change is ignored. When will OB5 be available for download?
· I've seen that setting hdr image for reflection make the render fail (it is ok with a jpg).
· I like that you can have both k2 and k3 installed, in case you need it.

Have you considered the pipeline with Substance Designer? This is a great tool for material authoring, and there are some shader standars that would be great to be implemented in kray, to minimize the work of importing pbr materials from internet. Maybe this is already discussed.

Reagards

Asticles
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:23 pm

Re: Questions about Kray3

Postby Asticles » Mon Nov 28, 2016 1:35 pm

About PPM, do you get radiosity clouds, spots and dark corners? I've tested it with yafaray and luxrender. And although it is blazing fast, I always got this problems. Also, setting the search radius properly was a pain. Yafaray has automatic search radius but never managed to get satisfactory results with sppm.

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3992
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Questions about Kray3

Postby Janusz Biela » Mon Nov 28, 2016 7:35 pm

K2 and K3 can be installed in the same Lightwave - they do not "see" each other. You can consider K3 like new render engine for Lightwave.
K3OB3 and K3OB4 big difference.
Post process is no problem to code: G. told it must be first finished VCM, PPM , bi-directional Path Tracing and new GI sampling (all is ready, we just need to test it), then he can start all features (include multi-light).

User avatar
djwaterman
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 11:02 am

Re: Questions about Kray3

Postby djwaterman » Tue Dec 13, 2016 4:49 pm

Where are we with Kray3? Is there a version available that I can do real work on or are we still waiting for the proper release? I mean, I know the final release is coming, but can the current available version be used professionally?

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3992
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Questions about Kray3

Postby Janusz Biela » Tue Dec 13, 2016 10:25 pm

Soon OB4. Grzegorz fix now important bugs for this release.
Also very soon I will show new renders.

Asticles
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:23 pm

Re: Questions about Kray3

Postby Asticles » Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:48 pm

Cannot wait! :D

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3992
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Questions about Kray3

Postby Janusz Biela » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:02 pm

Probably we will move Kray web page to another provider - this actual sucks - too often off line Kray web page.


Return to “Help and Tutorials”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest