How to install KRAY3

Post your tutorials and help questions in this forum
Post Reply
Asticles
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:23 pm

How to install KRAY3

Post by Asticles » Sat Nov 26, 2016 1:06 pm

Hi all,

Just purchased KRAY3 beta but cannot find instructables to install it. Can anybody help me?

Regards!

Asticles
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:23 pm

Re: How to install KRAY3

Post by Asticles » Sat Nov 26, 2016 1:21 pm

Sorry, just saw this:

http://www.kraytracing.com/phpBB3/viewt ... ay3#p23343

There should be something like that bundled with the package. :)

Also the menu config file.

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4012
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: How to install KRAY3

Post by Janusz Biela » Sat Nov 26, 2016 2:43 pm

We back to this with OB4.

ZodiaQ
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: How to install KRAY3

Post by ZodiaQ » Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:36 pm

Asticles wrote:Sorry, just saw this:

http://www.kraytracing.com/phpBB3/viewt ... ay3#p23343

There should be something like that bundled with the package. :)

Also the menu config file.
I agree, after some time wanting to try a new kray3 release I am again searching for how to install, should be sticky somewere
What menu file for example, still the old one from above post ?

User avatar
vgabex
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 2:47 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: How to install KRAY3

Post by vgabex » Tue Oct 03, 2017 3:59 pm

For me, this is the most simple solution to update from RC2 to RC3:
- close layout & modeler
- overwrite all k3 files
- launch layout, load a previous scene and hit f9
- done....

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4012
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: How to install KRAY3

Post by Janusz Biela » Tue Oct 03, 2017 5:58 pm

vgabex wrote:For me, this is the most simple solution to update from RC2 to RC3:
- close layout & modeler
- overwrite all k3 files
- launch layout, load a previous scene and hit f9
- done....
Exactly 8)
Just override files.

This can change in future with new modules but I will inform about it (prefer installation from Lightwave Add Plugins)

ZodiaQ
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: How to install KRAY3

Post by ZodiaQ » Wed Oct 04, 2017 4:55 pm

Maybe this sounds very stupid but after some time i forget how previous version was installed and ask myself again :
- where do all the files need to go?
- can I throw all files (common and windows) together in a directory?
- does this directory need to be in LW directory?
- should previous version be removed first?
- where is the menu(file)?
etc. So a short description in textfile would be very helpfull

Imo menu branch should be included with every release even if it doesn't change if only it is to avoid confusion.

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4012
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: How to install KRAY3

Post by Janusz Biela » Wed Oct 04, 2017 6:04 pm

This is very simply:
- create folder K2 and K3
- put everything what you need from K2 to K2 folder
- put everything what you need from K3 to K3 folder (example for x64 version + LW11.x-2015.x):
ScreenShot085.png
ScreenShot085.png (17.37 KiB) Viewed 1797 times

Post Reply