Texture problems

Post your tutorials and help questions in this forum
lamerehic
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:03 pm

Texture problems

Postby lamerehic » Tue Sep 13, 2016 3:07 pm

Hello,

I am working on a interior scene, and i experienced a weird problem..

I got a object (stair ramp) that does not react to texturing. i get reflective surface on it, as i only have 100% diffuse.

Same if i change it's color, it does not render well and keep spec and gray/white color.

In the lw Renderer i get it working properly.


(I did set it up before with a fesnel node.. but as kray kept crashing, i removed it)


Someone has a clue on what's going on?
Attachments
1.jpg

lamerehic
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:03 pm

Re: Texture problems

Postby lamerehic » Tue Sep 13, 2016 3:56 pm

Ok,

After a few hours of searching tweaking and so, i found the origin of the problem....

I did name the surface with a accent (stupid error from me).... so i could tweak the surface as much as i want, it had no influences on it in kray.

So every thing should be working fine now...

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3992
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Texture problems

Postby Janusz Biela » Tue Sep 13, 2016 8:17 pm

First what you do when is something wrong just simple turn ON Override mode. By one button you can check fast what is wrong: Nodes, reflection, textures, etc.

thomas
Posts: 402
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:59 am

Re: Texture problems

Postby thomas » Wed Sep 14, 2016 9:53 am

Ha! Sometimes the problem (and solution) can be surprising!

It took me a while to understand why the Lightwave 3DS exporter hardly worked for me, and the solution/problem was similar there: it turned out all surface (or was it texture) names needed to be maximum 8 characters long and without spaces - a legacy from the DOS days!

User avatar
promity
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Texture problems

Postby promity » Wed Sep 14, 2016 1:18 pm

Another texture/material problem - when you rendering a subpatch animation character the UV interpolation will always back to the linear parameter, so you need every time before rendering scene going to the Modeler and setup again UV Interpolation mode even if it set at subpatch. And press "save" after this - it important moment!

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3992
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Texture problems

Postby Janusz Biela » Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:41 pm

promity wrote:Another texture/material problem - when you rendering a subpatch animation character the UV interpolation will always back to the linear parameter, so you need every time before rendering scene going to the Modeler and setup again UV Interpolation mode even if it set at subpatch. And press "save" after this - it important moment!


...but you talk about K2 problem?

User avatar
promity
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Texture problems

Postby promity » Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:08 pm

Yes, bcaus K3 generally can not render my (not super complexy) character animation scenes.

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3992
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Texture problems

Postby Janusz Biela » Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:35 pm

promity wrote:Yes, bcaus K3 generally can not render my (not super complexy) character animation scenes.


K2 probably will be not developed anymore (only compatibility with new LW) but if this is important you car write to G. with request + send him bug (simple scene with explanation)
K3 still is in first Phase: making Core working properly without photon map errors...so no animation yet (you can try it, should work something, I did not check this field because is to early)


Return to “Help and Tutorials”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests