Page 1 of 2

File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 12:01 pm
by Fabian-Eshloraque
Hi Guys,

We are rendering some animations with kray but I have a problem with the output names.

We have now: name_0000_alpha.hdr

But we should have: name_alpha_0000.dir

Cause fusion doesn't recognize them as a sequence. Is there a fix for this? Cause otherwise a have to batch rename a lot of files, which is also a bit dangerous to do...

Thx!

Fabian

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:34 pm
by Janusz Biela
Btw , will tell Grzegorz about adding small extension in K3 which will allow user to change prefix and suffix . Also I am not sure about special command in Kray for that - perhaps something exist - will send to G. question how change extension from command line because this solution under is after render phase (will be much better receive directly correct names)

1. Download free software: http://www.advancedrenamer.com/

2. Choose DIRECTORIES to scan folder with file which we want rename
sc_015.png
sc_017.png
FILENAME and NEW FILENAME is the same because we did not add yet method.



3. Choose two method:
first REMOVE PATTERN
second REPLACE
sc_018.png
sc_019.png

one for delete extension (in this case we delete _dire )
second for change name (as you want)
The frame number counter is not changing - you can see from NEW FILENAME window.


4. Press START BATCH
sc_019s.png
\

You will have confirmation how many files and methods was chosen to be sure.
Be sure you have copy of frames before action (just in case :wink: )

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:50 pm
by Fabian-Eshloraque
Hey Janusz,

Delete the other post, my browser did something funny, so was not sure that I posted.

I will test your piece of software, it looks handy for us to use in pipeline. But if you could find the command to do it in kray...

Thx for the quick reply!

Fabian

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:00 pm
by Janusz Biela
Fabian-Eshloraque wrote:Hey Janusz,

Delete the other post, my browser did something funny, so was not sure that I posted.

I will test your piece of software, it looks handy for us to use in pipeline. But if you could find the command to do it in kray...

Thx for the quick reply!

Fabian

I sent mail to G. with question.

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:25 pm
by Fabian-Eshloraque
Janusz,

Could you also make a world position pass from kray? (I asked it a couple years ago but couldnt send you an example due to NDA)

I can send you an example by wetransfer if you want.

Thx!

Fabian

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 5:10 pm
by Janusz Biela
Fabian-Eshloraque wrote:Janusz,

Could you also make a world position pass from kray? (I asked it a couple years ago but couldnt send you an example due to NDA)

I can send you an example by wetransfer if you want.

Thx!

Fabian

New passes will be added in K3. Generally passes are easy for coding but we have so many important things to add ....

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:36 pm
by khan973
I agree, but passes are what make people using renderers in productions! 8)

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 8:42 am
by Janusz Biela
khan973 wrote:I agree, but passes are what make people using renderers in productions! 8)
Yes I know but here are more important thinks then passes - believe me :wink:
Anyway it is easy for coding, also I had request to G. to make in first shoot the most important pass from all: Motion Pass.

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 8:44 am
by jure
Fabian-Eshloraque wrote:Hi Guys,

We are rendering some animations with kray but I have a problem with the output names.

We have now: name_0000_alpha.hdr

But we should have: name_alpha_0000.dir

Cause fusion doesn't recognize them as a sequence. Is there a fix for this? Cause otherwise a have to batch rename a lot of files, which is also a bit dangerous to do...

Thx!

Fabian
There is built-in solution for your problem

You can use whatever naming you want by using the following variables in your filename:

%frame% Current frame.
%buffer% Buffer name (if rendering buffers other then RGB, see needbuffers).

Default format is %frame%_%buffer%.
In your case all you need to do is to change it to:

name_%buffer%_%frame%.hdr

You can use several other variables in your filename. They are listed there: http://www.kraytracing.com/wiki/Advance ... _info_text

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:12 am
by Janusz Biela
Thx Jure!

To complete information where, what and how:
In Kray output setting, example:

Code: Select all

C:\test_%buffer%_%frame%.png
will give us:

Code: Select all

test__00000.png
sc_022.png

But if we select buffers in Kray:
sc_023.png
sc_023.png (24.03 KiB) Viewed 19508 times
will give us:

Code: Select all

test__00000.png
test_zbuf_00000.png
test_sfid_00000.png
test_obid_00000.png

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:22 am
by Fabian-Eshloraque
Hi Guys,

Thx for the information and also for the quick reply!

Best regards,

Fabian

Our site is online: www.eshloraque.com

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:35 pm
by khan973
The problem I face is that Z-Buffer pass doesn't export EXR

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:59 am
by Janusz Biela
Can you write more about this?

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:39 am
by Fabian-Eshloraque
Hi Khan,

We use the HDR export for the zdepth which works perfect. But an openEXR are basically layered HDRI images. The reason why we use it as float (HDRI and openEXR is because you need a lot of color space to store the info. In the old days we use to do it with floating tiffs.

We only use nuke to composit, photoshop is not fully floating, so that could be an issue?

I always use output to lightwave and use an openEXR export for the beauty pass, so my compositer can choose between the openEXR or the HDRI, which doesnt make a difference.

Grtz,

Fabian

Re: File naming when Buffers are used

Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:29 pm
by jnom
khan973 wrote:The problem I face is that Z-Buffer pass doesn't export EXR
Well hopefully all buffers are built in kray 3.0 with exr. Its one of the most requested feature for kray for almost a decade. And its true that users will not adapt to a render that doesn't have exr support. This is why octane render is implementing exr and buffers already because majority of users really need this.