Page 2 of 2

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:15 am
by Janusz Biela
It will be also version for iOS.
Both available from App Store and Play Store.

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 3:01 pm
by thomas
Hi,

This might be a critical note, but wouldn't it be better to spend precious development time on advancing the Kray 3 release for LightWave (and other host software) at the moment, rather then developing benchmark software for Android and iOS.

I know from experience that just building and deploying for Google Play and the Apple App Store is quite a hassle, and to be honest, at the moment the usefulness of smartphone benchmarking is limited, especially when compared to full desktop software.

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 3:57 pm
by Janusz Biela
He must take off sometimes from main track not to get "crazy" or "loop".

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:35 pm
by thomas
Hehe, sorry for my critical remark: you're right. I'm a developer myself, and sometimes you need to be able to focus on a fun little "side track" or your head will explode :D

Point well taken!

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:51 pm
by promity
I can not pass a benchmark on my engineering versions of processors ((
Every time I get a blue screen, but K3RC2 working well.

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:16 pm
by Janusz Biela
thomas wrote:Hehe, sorry for my critical remark: you're right. I'm a developer myself, and sometimes you need to be able to focus on a fun little "side track" or your head will explode :D

Point well taken!



All critic are welcome! We need them to perform K3. The developing is maybe slow... hmm fast? - right now is exactly one year when we run first K3 plugin in Lightwave...

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:17 pm
by Janusz Biela
promity wrote:I can not pass a benchmark on my engineering versions of processors ((
Every time I get a blue screen, but K3RC2 working well.

Can you tell more what is it?

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Posted: Wed Sep 27, 2017 5:56 am
by promity
This happened from the very beginning, as soon as the first RCs of K3 came out. But Gregorz then introduced some additions to the code and my engineers samplers CPU were able to work with K3. Apparently, he did not take into account these factors when creating the benchmark.

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Posted: Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:27 pm
by Janusz Biela
promity wrote:This happened from the very beginning, as soon as the first RCs of K3 came out. But Gregorz then introduced some additions to the code and my engineers samplers CPU were able to work with K3. Apparently, he did not take into account these factors when creating the benchmark.

benchmark has different code.
Full version of K3 is optimized. Benchmark had to be create as universal code for all systems (different compilations for different systems).
Details: ask G. about more.
What it means: engineers samplers CPU ?

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Posted: Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:36 pm
by promity
Heh, samples, not samplers )

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:46 pm
by ZodiaQ
I haven't been following hardware development the last years :roll:
And I noticed a very low K3 benchmark score (1933) at least compared to the highest :shock:
I have Intel Xeon(R) CPU E5-1620 @ 3.6GHz
Would it be worthwile considering some sort of upgrade? and if so what?

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 3:20 pm
by Janusz Biela
AVLKray wrote:I haven't been following hardware development the last years :roll:
And I noticed a very low K3 benchmark score (1933) at least compared to the highest :shock:
I have Intel Xeon(R) CPU E5-1620 @ 3.6GHz
Would it be worthwile considering some sort of upgrade? and if so what?


Any Dual Xeon with at least 40HT - that's the standard.
Also very important is that K3 Benchmark tested whole hardware. This is no synthetic test which test CPU and L1/L2 cache only!
Benchmark contain real Global Illumination with QMC sampling and this affects a lot data traveling between CPU and RAM through BUS system back and forth.
That`s why K3BEnchmark is very reliable.

Example:
we have here 2 machines exactly same specification but one of them is 3% faster!...is that because the faster one has "only" the newest cheapest version on motherboard.