Official K3 Benchmark release

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3725
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Postby Janusz Biela » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:15 am

It will be also version for iOS.
Both available from App Store and Play Store.

thomas
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:59 am

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Postby thomas » Tue Sep 26, 2017 3:01 pm

Hi,

This might be a critical note, but wouldn't it be better to spend precious development time on advancing the Kray 3 release for LightWave (and other host software) at the moment, rather then developing benchmark software for Android and iOS.

I know from experience that just building and deploying for Google Play and the Apple App Store is quite a hassle, and to be honest, at the moment the usefulness of smartphone benchmarking is limited, especially when compared to full desktop software.

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3725
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Postby Janusz Biela » Tue Sep 26, 2017 3:57 pm

He must take off sometimes from main track not to get "crazy" or "loop".

thomas
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:59 am

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Postby thomas » Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:35 pm

Hehe, sorry for my critical remark: you're right. I'm a developer myself, and sometimes you need to be able to focus on a fun little "side track" or your head will explode :D

Point well taken!

User avatar
promity
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Postby promity » Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:51 pm

I can not pass a benchmark on my engineering versions of processors ((
Every time I get a blue screen, but K3RC2 working well.

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3725
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Postby Janusz Biela » Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:16 pm

thomas wrote:Hehe, sorry for my critical remark: you're right. I'm a developer myself, and sometimes you need to be able to focus on a fun little "side track" or your head will explode :D

Point well taken!



All critic are welcome! We need them to perform K3. The developing is maybe slow... hmm fast? - right now is exactly one year when we run first K3 plugin in Lightwave...

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3725
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Postby Janusz Biela » Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:17 pm

promity wrote:I can not pass a benchmark on my engineering versions of processors ((
Every time I get a blue screen, but K3RC2 working well.

Can you tell more what is it?

User avatar
promity
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Postby promity » Wed Sep 27, 2017 5:56 am

This happened from the very beginning, as soon as the first RCs of K3 came out. But Gregorz then introduced some additions to the code and my engineers samplers CPU were able to work with K3. Apparently, he did not take into account these factors when creating the benchmark.

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3725
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Postby Janusz Biela » Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:27 pm

promity wrote:This happened from the very beginning, as soon as the first RCs of K3 came out. But Gregorz then introduced some additions to the code and my engineers samplers CPU were able to work with K3. Apparently, he did not take into account these factors when creating the benchmark.

benchmark has different code.
Full version of K3 is optimized. Benchmark had to be create as universal code for all systems (different compilations for different systems).
Details: ask G. about more.
What it means: engineers samplers CPU ?

User avatar
promity
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Postby promity » Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:36 pm

Heh, samples, not samplers )

AVLKray
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Postby AVLKray » Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:46 pm

I haven't been following hardware development the last years :roll:
And I noticed a very low K3 benchmark score (1933) at least compared to the highest :shock:
I have Intel Xeon(R) CPU E5-1620 @ 3.6GHz
Would it be worthwile considering some sort of upgrade? and if so what?

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3725
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Official K3 Benchmark release

Postby Janusz Biela » Fri Feb 16, 2018 3:20 pm

AVLKray wrote:I haven't been following hardware development the last years :roll:
And I noticed a very low K3 benchmark score (1933) at least compared to the highest :shock:
I have Intel Xeon(R) CPU E5-1620 @ 3.6GHz
Would it be worthwile considering some sort of upgrade? and if so what?


Any Dual Xeon with at least 40HT - that's the standard.
Also very important is that K3 Benchmark tested whole hardware. This is no synthetic test which test CPU and L1/L2 cache only!
Benchmark contain real Global Illumination with QMC sampling and this affects a lot data traveling between CPU and RAM through BUS system back and forth.
That`s why K3BEnchmark is very reliable.

Example:
we have here 2 machines exactly same specification but one of them is 3% faster!...is that because the faster one has "only" the newest cheapest version on motherboard.


Return to “Kray3 Benchmark”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest