K3OB4 new release

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3990
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

K3OB4 new release

Postby Janusz Biela » Sat Dec 03, 2016 8:04 pm

Just inform about new release K3 OB4. We talked with G. and he want from now make one update per month.
Soon details.





...Silence means good :twisted:
A lot new features in K3OB4. Today I refreshed bug tracker for G. (before release OB4 he wants fix important bugs)

This I got with new OB4:

old K3OB2-OB3 without AA:
benchmark-3.0 OB2_00h 00min 14sec.png


old K3OB2-OB3 with AA:
benchmark-3.0 OB2_00h 01min 07sec.png


New K3OB4 with PPM and optimized AA (number of version is not changed yet):
benchmark-3.0 OB3_00h 00min 13sec.png


K2:
benchmark-2.621_00h 00min 30sec00000.png


This scene is not showing real speed because is too simple. But at least I can see differences in time and progress.

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3990
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: K3OB4

Postby Janusz Biela » Sat Dec 03, 2016 8:33 pm

One more test:

K3OB3 no AA 33s:
K3_noAA_33s.png


K3OB3 with AA 1m49s:
K3_FSAAG3__1m49s.png



K3OB4:
K4_.png

User avatar
khan973
Posts: 329
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 3:58 pm

Re: K3OB4

Postby khan973 » Sun Dec 04, 2016 9:22 pm

We are getting closer, good news!

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3990
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: K3OB4

Postby Janusz Biela » Mon Dec 05, 2016 1:39 pm

...I know you all lost patience but it is very close.
I run small test just to see is there (K3) any progress:

Corona 10 min:
Corona_10min.png


K2:
K2.png


K3OB4 (small bugs but I can run normal scenes with Nodes):
K3_.png


I do not want make it exactly the same. Is enough to get close whole effects. Of course in K3 we do not have full option post process yet.
K3 has also bug with reflection blur noise - I have to use very high value for that so time should be close 3-4 min.

User avatar
promity
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: K3OB4

Postby promity » Mon Dec 05, 2016 2:55 pm

Seems like OB4 picture little bit more noisy. But any way - it's fast!

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3990
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: K3OB4

Postby Janusz Biela » Mon Dec 05, 2016 3:13 pm

Yes I need catch same level (different engine). But more important is fast response: I see very acceptable quality after 5-10 sec of render in this resolution!
When we will connect this to the K3VPR you will have response under 5 sec for smaller resolution after changing light, surfaces, colors, position of light, position of camera :evil:

Asticles
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:23 pm

Re: K3OB4

Postby Asticles » Tue Dec 06, 2016 5:39 pm

What about the light bleeding under the ceiling?

User avatar
Keraressi Abdelkarim
Posts: 826
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 4:44 pm

Re: K3OB4

Postby Keraressi Abdelkarim » Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:48 am

Asticles wrote:What about the light bleeding under the ceiling?


Thats it called irradience. in corona render thats is has full gi render quality. And janusz he just i think he used low preset if he choose qmc or pathtracing he will get the same with k3 or k2.

And corona he has fake gi system. U need to put many lights not as kray. Kray it work like real. If u put light u will get exact illumination as realworld. Sooo k3 with shaders ^^ render will be fun + that amazing real tme poste process surface adjustement + new buffers ex.... i cant imagine what i can do.

I cant wait tooo see this kray3 power of rendring :twisted:

Asticles
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:23 pm

Re: K3OB4

Postby Asticles » Wed Dec 07, 2016 1:05 am

I expect that k3 will come with a new shader system, physically correct.

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3990
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: K3OB4

Postby Janusz Biela » Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:02 am

Do not watch this scene as example of GI. This Corona scene has a lot fake lights ...even textures with some fake GI.
Inside original scene are 7 lights:
- fill light from big LEM outside
- fake LEM for corner effect
- fake LEM from top over bed inside room
- fake LEM from top - outside room
- Sun light with big smooth shadow
- LEM inside lamp (bulb)
- LEM outside lamp

lights.jpg

I just use this scene to catch tone mapping level for K2/K3. Apparently I used only LWF Gamma 1.8 and because Kray has good light transport i limited general Power for GI with 0.5 *default is 1.0) value and 10 bounce lights.
It looks like Corona has very limited bounce light amount (for fast rendering purposes) because originally it looks for me like 4-5 bounce lights in Kray.

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3990
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: K3OB4

Postby Janusz Biela » Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:07 am

Asticles wrote:I expect that k3 will come with a new shader system, physically correct.


This is only one way to render correct images. Engine is just engine ...can be the worst from all .
You can put in google image: corona clay render and you will see just basic (standard) GI quality...

Asticles
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:23 pm

Re: K3OB4

Postby Asticles » Wed Dec 07, 2016 1:11 pm

Janusz Biela wrote:
Asticles wrote:I expect that k3 will come with a new shader system, physically correct.


This is only one way to render correct images. Engine is just engine ...can be the worst from all .
You can put in google image: corona clay render and you will see just basic (standard) GI quality...


Looking corona images, I've seen this:

http://www.evermotion.org/files/tutorials_content/uploads/Materials_Plastic_Shiny_900_00361.jpg

Could be possible to have a material viewer node that can be plugged to preview the node output in some node branch?

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3990
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: K3OB4

Postby Janusz Biela » Wed Dec 07, 2016 2:01 pm

Here is question: "do we really need preview material Node?" ...K3 core evaluate to incredible fast engine (everything is before us) and I suspect, we will not need this because running scene in K3VPR with all Core features (before us, probably in OB4 new update for FG sampling: rays per sample) will gives us instant render preview in real scene conditions (light, GI, reflection, blur, AA).
Everything (other engines also) now evaluate to PPM system...even GPU renders.

Jarda_viz
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:04 am

Re: K3OB4

Postby Jarda_viz » Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:39 pm

"Do we really need preview material Node?"
I think it would be good to have such a preview or at least possibility to quickly see output of each part of node separate.
This function is in Blender (viewer) and I like it.

There is no function isolate object or surface in Layout so for heavy scene it will never be as fast as necessary.
For some materials we need close up view when we create material with scratches or other small detail. Preview in node editor can substitute isolate function in layout for now.
Attachments
Viewer.JPG

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3990
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: K3OB4

Postby Janusz Biela » Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:07 am

....I will ask G. (will put request on bug tracker), maybe is possible to do it with "build-in" studio scene: after selected surface in Layout would be nice to start special module from K3VPR with preview material in re-scaled windows (so for stronger CPU/GPU you can make it bigger).
Actually he mentioned that a couple months ago when we talked about Nodes. The response of that will be in milliseconds , studio scene build-in Core with easy control from VPR to see different angles. Personally I use my basic studio for setup surfaces and this works very well.
Having that window previewer we can use all GI system: Raytracing, PPM, Path Tracing with Anti-Aliasing or without.

This is easy to do, because does`t need hard coding - everything is ready for that :)


Return to “technical information”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest