Wall Bricks D3 v2

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Wall Bricks D3 v2

Post by Janusz Biela »

Here my Brick Node.

- full rescale tile brick
- full variation control
- separate color brick/mortar
- separate bump brick/texture
- reflection with excluded mortar
- mortar size/smooth control

In in parentheses are min and max values (to know range). If you put to high or too low value (for example 100 for reflection) then automatically it will be reduced to maximum value in this case 3.0.

Render example has 3 wall brick with 3 different colors.
kray_render_brick_Node.jpg

[youtube]sofvCIBdFtg[/youtube]

If are some problems with this Node please post me here.
Only one texture is needed from Kray download package.
wall_brick.srf
(64.18 KiB) Downloaded 214 times
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by Janusz Biela »

btw
this is complicate system but I checked Blocks Node from Rman Collection:
http://dpont.pagesperso-orange.fr/plugins/Textures.htm
...and it can be done much easier. But before this I have to check it will work at renderfarm.
ZodiaQ
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by ZodiaQ »

Thanks Janusz,

This material can be great for general purpose! Will be great for pavement!
However we often need very realistic bricks for walls with sometimes very specific texturing.
And to be honest I don't realy care about grout / brick size / render farm. If I have decent base texture it's fine.
Like I said I always start of with texture set containing color, bump, normal and (mortar) alpha textures.
Based on these I am searching for a solid node based setup in which I am able to change mortar color quick and easy.
ScreenShot376.jpg
ZodiaQ
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by ZodiaQ »

Maybe you could explain which values to change to get for example square tiles because these kind of complex nodes setup is still chinese to me
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by Janusz Biela »

That`s the problem with this Node: it does not offer full control with width and height size. I tried RmanCollect Node (there is much better) but it doesn`t work with compound and is old so can be problem with network rendering or with compatibility.

To make your example brick is not easy - It need very complex connections similar to FilterForge. Brick Node offer only straight line mortar. Also I am not that skilled to make it in this way - but I will try.

Change ratio scale in this surface is blocked because of Image bomber but I will make it soon. I have ready bath tiles and soon I will release it (full control, no texture needed)
ZodiaQ
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by ZodiaQ »

Well I did manage to transform it into tile pavers :)
ScreenShot377.jpg
Tiles-node.srf
(64.19 KiB) Downloaded 171 times
(texture not included)

But even now I realize that often I need more control, need to know exactly where tiles stop, need exact sizing etc, so often it is easier for me to model tiles or at least slice the surface into tiles.
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by Janusz Biela »

I have new control for tiles outside (update) It can be easy control under FPrime or VPR. Soon will post new Node :)
ZodiaQ
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by ZodiaQ »

Janusz Biela wrote: To make your example brick is not easy - It need very complex connections similar to FilterForge. Brick Node offer only straight line mortar. Also I am not that skilled to make it in this way - but I will try.
Well for my example in fact I don't want to change mortar size etc just use the texture, I only don't know the best (node) way to change mortar color.
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by Janusz Biela »

Mortar color is background color in Brick Node and there you can connect everything - also texture.
ZodiaQ
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by ZodiaQ »

Thx!

Btw is there a node that places a texture exactly on a polygon?
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by Janusz Biela »

but in which way? There in DPkit are Nodes for mapping also and I think for that is Layer Plus.
ZodiaQ
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by ZodiaQ »

Like I said to have easy control over precise placement of tiles I usually slice my plane into 'tiles' so I know where Tiles end and it's easy to remove some tiles when I need to.
So each tile (polygon) needs to have a tile texture (or seam) to work with
ZodiaQ
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by ZodiaQ »

Got an awesome repons to my thread on the Newtek forum
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php ... ost1379716
I had to modify it by using PartInfo and PartMove instead of the Extended Spot Info node
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by Janusz Biela »

thx for info!
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Wall Bricks D3

Post by Janusz Biela »

I updated brick surface to version v2.
This is complete surface and I will not back to this Node..maybe for small adjustments.
Please consider that, this is not real displacement effect so effect of bump will be never that good as real brick wire.
Tiles.png
brick_exterior.jpg

[youtube]7bLU6ILEPvs[/youtube]

___________________________________________

texture is in package here
Eclipse_wall_brick_v2.srf
(65.53 KiB) Downloaded 175 times
Post Reply