Translucency

Post your tutorials and help questions in this forum
lamerehic
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:03 pm

Translucency

Postby lamerehic » Fri Sep 16, 2016 6:41 pm

I am working on texture for curtains and for wall lights,

These are not transparent but translucent... (correct me if i am wrong..)

But with kray rendering it takes hours to compute on my scene. Anyone has a other way to do this?

Thanks

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3992
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Translucency

Postby Janusz Biela » Fri Sep 16, 2016 7:10 pm

I suspect you use Node Translucency. Not supported in Kray (slow or errors).
If not, simple post here surface.

lamerehic
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:03 pm

Re: Translucency

Postby lamerehic » Fri Sep 16, 2016 7:55 pm

Thanks for your time.

No i dont use the translucency node, but i upload my srf.
Attachments
rideau.zip
(1.04 MiB) Downloaded 75 times

lamerehic
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:03 pm

Re: Translucency

Postby lamerehic » Fri Sep 16, 2016 8:09 pm

And here the mesh
Attachments
rideau.lwo
(76.09 KiB) Downloaded 68 times

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3992
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Translucency

Postby Janusz Biela » Fri Sep 16, 2016 8:48 pm

Actually I use no Nodes for translucency.
I think I noticed this slow render by Nodes and I started use normal LW system...after that I forgot about it :oops:
I send you test scene with normal setup and Node (just disable Node to check speed render).
So if you want use translucency better is to use standard translucency setting.
curtain_test.7z
(1.06 MiB) Downloaded 89 times

lamerehic
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:03 pm

Re: Translucency

Postby lamerehic » Fri Sep 16, 2016 10:01 pm

Thanks Janusz, there is a big difference between the 2 renders.
For my part translucy takes age to compute ( as there is a window glass behind,or maybe my mesh in quads isn't optimised).
Maybe i'll try to have a go on a other way round.

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 3992
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Translucency

Postby Janusz Biela » Fri Sep 16, 2016 11:41 pm

lamerehic wrote:Thanks Janusz, there is a big difference between the 2 renders.
For my part translucy takes age to compute ( as there is a window glass behind,or maybe my mesh in quads isn't optimised).
Maybe i'll try to have a go on a other way round.


Probably you use Final Gathering - forget!
Use QMC system with these minimum settings:

curtain_test_QMC.7z
(1.06 MiB) Downloaded 94 times

lamerehic
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:03 pm

Re: Translucency

Postby lamerehic » Sat Sep 17, 2016 3:03 pm

you are right i wasn't using good render settings.
With your settings, the renders are done with acceptable time, thanks.
I'll post a wip render to get critics and comments.
Attachments
3.jpg

User avatar
Keraressi Abdelkarim
Posts: 826
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 4:44 pm

Re: Translucency

Postby Keraressi Abdelkarim » Sat Oct 22, 2016 8:27 am

lamerehic wrote:you are right i wasn't using good render settings.
With your settings, the renders are done with acceptable time, thanks.
I'll post a wip render to get critics and comments.



TA Un bad setup. rideau utilise tranparent + transulencency mais pa trop . utlise la meme texture dans diffse . bonne chance .


Return to “Help and Tutorials”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests