Corona scene

Post Reply
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Corona scene

Post by Janusz Biela »

Here scene for testing. Whole scene is done by me. Free for Kray users (also for commercial rendering). Scene has only simulation of corona render engine.
Have nice tests!
Kray_raw.png
corona_kray.rar
(27.43 MiB) Downloaded 1214 times
User avatar
nico
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 1:21 am
Contact:

Re: Corona scene

Post by nico »

15min on my pc
:shock:
fantastic scene for study setup!!! :mrgreen: :wink:
Attachments
Kray.jpg
scz
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 12:50 pm

Re: Corona scene

Post by scz »

thanks :D
from beijing
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Corona scene

Post by Janusz Biela »

Feel free to screw this scene.
Actually I put there the best Final Gathering setup in my opinion in Kray. You can see GI details in override mode - even picture on the wall has shadow around frame.
There are three passes (it is maximum because last pass find only ~100% new samples) but you can reduce amount of passes to two - still will be good.
Also Area Light quality can be reduce from 2/4 to 1/4.

The biggest improvement is" I used Area Light Inverse Distance^1 (!) which is not quite physically correct but give me much softer shadows and more light.
But the most important is this Area Light doesn`t give noise on the nearest object! It comes from low level of brightness near source of light (Area Light Inverse Distance^2 has big noise because is problem with tone mapping this region, near source of light)
This type of light can be positioned exactly as size of windows.

The render is much faster with these light.
Kray_Corona_override.png
User avatar
vgabex
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 2:47 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Corona scene

Post by vgabex »

9min 02sec on i7 4770K@4.1ghz + 32mb ram --- Octree Detail: High
10min 26sec on i7 4770K@4.1ghz + 32mb ram --- Octree Detail: Normal

So if you have enough memory, switch Octree Detail on Quality tab to High to gain 13% speed increase on this scene!
Attachments
Kray_Corona_G0200000.png
User avatar
Keraressi Abdelkarim
Posts: 830
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 4:44 pm

Re: Corona scene

Post by Keraressi Abdelkarim »

here my simple test without physky inside window i have old i7 950 . 4 . 8 thread 3.06GHz

thank u janusz for the scn .
Attachments
kray coronna.jpg
User avatar
nico
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 1:21 am
Contact:

Re: Corona scene

Post by nico »

first time my render so Janusz render :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Corona scene

Post by Janusz Biela »

vgabex wrote:9min 02sec on i7 4770K@4.1ghz + 32mb ram --- Octree Detail: High
10min 26sec on i7 4770K@4.1ghz + 32mb ram --- Octree Detail: Normal

So if you have enough memory, switch Octree Detail on Quality tab to High to gain 13% speed increase on this scene!
Octree level brings more speed when you have heavy scene with many instances. It can really rapidly increase speed render (especially part when Kray recalculate many instances in memory). Of course last level Octree needs a lot RAM memory.
Having 24 Giga RAM you can manage almost all scenes with High Octree...so I suggest use this non stop, even for small scenes - always a couple of percent faster are welcome.
brownie
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:53 am

Re: Corona scene

Post by brownie »

I've tested this seting on my own scene and it seems that it's not just another setting, but the best FG setting ever on Kray. Thank you Janusz.
User avatar
Keraressi Abdelkarim
Posts: 830
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 4:44 pm

Re: Corona scene

Post by Keraressi Abdelkarim »

i use uncached
User avatar
nico
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 1:21 am
Contact:

Re: Corona scene

Post by nico »

Janusz how come you haven't used QMC?

for identic effect to corona render? :?: :oops:
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4016
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Corona scene

Post by Janusz Biela »

nico wrote:Janusz how come you haven't used QMC?

for identic effect to corona render? :?: :oops:

Actually in corona you have kind of Final Gathering, this is single pass path tracing + approximate GI...so GI is far from perfection.
Single pass path tracing You have in Kray - this is option Path Passes+corner distance but in Kray you can use more bounces then one. Also in Kray you have corner distance which calculate Path Tracing photons only near corners (It rapidly increase speed of calculation - because Path Photons are not calculated on the whole scene - rest is calculate by Photon Mapping)
Generally turning ON Path Passes in Kray (I suggest strongly use it!) You render in the same way as Corona (except that in Kray we calculate only corners) I think increasing Distance for example over 100% you will be closer Corona :)
approximate GI is kind of Final Gathering.

I think in Corona in first seconds shooting Path Tracing photons but in very small amount (it can not be in the same way as Maxwell because you will never finish render) This is very limited phase.
After that is interpolation (similar to Final Gathering)

I am not 100% sure so If somebody knows more please write it :wink:
User avatar
Keraressi Abdelkarim
Posts: 830
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 4:44 pm

Re: Corona scene

Post by Keraressi Abdelkarim »

with all my respect to u janusz i dont think one here in this forum know better then u execpt G. in sometimes i doubt mybe u know better then G . cause u use product and u know how it write or how its work exactely so :D xD ^^ keep going and let us know many information to be good as u janusz (Y) . more pls more ...... :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
Post Reply