grass ver 3.0

Here you can share your Kray related materials, scenes, objects or whatever you think may help other users on our forum.
User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4012
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

grass ver 3.0

Post by Janusz Biela » Sat Mar 14, 2009 2:17 pm

Grass ver 3.0 soon, just fix some details....
Attachments
Allegro_grass.jpg

jure
Posts: 2216
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:53 pm

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by jure » Sat Mar 14, 2009 9:10 pm

it looks good. but still too spikey for my taste.
- Jure

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4012
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by Janusz Biela » Sun Mar 15, 2009 4:56 pm

jure wrote:it looks good. but still too spikey for my taste.
becouse this is after cutting the grass no grass from field... :wink:

iblagdan
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 9:34 pm

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by iblagdan » Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:30 am

Well, from what i have tried... you can use the same idea johnny did, just use different grass model to instance. You can build a nice patch with FiberFx strand modeler in modeler, any length you want :)

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4012
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by Janusz Biela » Mon Mar 16, 2009 11:01 am

iblagdan wrote:Well, from what i have tried... you can use the same idea johnny did, just use different grass model to instance. You can build a nice patch with FiberFx strand modeler in modeler, any length you want :)
No.
becouse I change textures and setup a bit. Grass is Grass You can`t invent something NEW :lol:
I looking good reflection on the leafs but this is hard.
Evrybody can render grass but always this looking crap and plastic. I looking realistic no crap.

done
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 12:00 pm
Contact:

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by done » Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:59 pm

Actually i was just talking about the grass polygons, youve got a patch that doesnt suit everyone :) By changing the polygons in the patch you can alter the look somewhat, longer, shorter... freshly cut. Your materials work ok with changed geometry.

joreldraw
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:36 pm

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by joreldraw » Tue May 12, 2009 6:00 pm

where is link to download?
Image

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4012
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by Janusz Biela » Tue May 12, 2009 7:07 pm

joreldraw wrote:where is link to download?
:D Still progress.....patience

joreldraw
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:36 pm

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by joreldraw » Tue May 12, 2009 9:39 pm

ohh ok xD .

Any method to make instance of diferents objects?
Nice for make 3 instance of grass whith little flower or weed and make an automatic interpolation of all object.
Sorry for my inglish , i am spanish :D
Image

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4012
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by Janusz Biela » Wed May 13, 2009 8:58 am

joreldraw wrote:ohh ok xD .

Any method to make instance of diferents objects?
Nice for make 3 instance of grass whith little flower or weed and make an automatic interpolation of all object.
Sorry for my inglish , i am spanish :D
Mostly V-ray renders have only Displacement grass (spike look) becouse V-ray have big problems with massive Instances (loooong shoting photons, low speed FG) why people use Displacement and good texture. We can use normal obiect (small grass bush and QMC shaders)
of coarse good idea is make 2 difference grass, difference levels of grass and small bush flowers or leafs. I know this is not easy becouse KrayInstance is poor in setup....but POSSIBLE, just need good idea.
I hope in future G. add instance on the flat surface (this will by very easy, becouse need only setup for CLONE ONE leaf with full options of size and rotate + engine of difference density)

prev from grass V 3.0:
Attachments
grass.jpg

joreldraw
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:36 pm

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by joreldraw » Wed May 13, 2009 11:34 am

For a few leaf no problem to make other object and do her instance.
The complication is for a variety of the principal grass, if we have a big cloud of points, we need to make a nice combination of 2 diferent point layers, to avoid overlap.

We can add this to Feature resquet no? some objects to clone whith random variation and quantity.

Image
Image

joreldraw
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:36 pm

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by joreldraw » Wed May 13, 2009 11:42 am

My image attached is a reference of the utility of some objects to clone whith flowers and variation.

You 3.0 grass are super realistic!!
Image

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4012
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by Janusz Biela » Wed May 13, 2009 12:39 pm

joreldraw wrote:For a few leaf no problem to make other object and do her instance.
The complication is for a variety of the principal grass, if we have a big cloud of points, we need to make a nice combination of 2 diferent point layers, to avoid overlap.

We can add this to Feature resquet no? some objects to clone whith random variation and quantity.
In future G. will make it, I hope...

Mario
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 9:42 pm

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by Mario » Sat May 23, 2009 7:55 am

Sorry guys to interupt, but how long does Kray need to render that one shot with grass?
Does it take ages or...

User avatar
Janusz Biela
Posts: 4012
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: grass ver 3.0

Post by Janusz Biela » Sat May 23, 2009 8:08 pm

Mario wrote:Sorry guys to interupt, but how long does Kray need to render that one shot with grass?
Does it take ages or...
This was very fast becouse I used QMC shader 100/0 (but You can use 50/0 it is much faster , more noise)
This grass rendered very fast. Grass without AA is ultra fast, but problem is with AA.
This is complex model: milions outline borders to calculate, but still is very fast. It does`t matter how big is grass and how diference intsance grass You have, problem always is with AA.

Post Reply